En Español

Be a Defender

North SeaTac Park and dozens of acres of forested land nearby are at risk. Our action can help protect them.

The entire park is zoned Aviation Commercial. The Port of Seattle owns the land that the park is on. Its 2020 Real Estate Strategic Plan contains a recommendation for 340,000 square feet of “aviation supportive use” on tree-covered land inside the park. ().

The Port also proposes developing an additional estimated 75+ acres of tree-covered land in the city of SeaTac for airport expansion.

Act Now!

  • Sign the Community Forest Consensus and tell others: CONSENSUS

  • Contact Port Commissioners and other electeds: Your emails, calls, and comments make the difference in the world. Sample message HERE. Contact & meeting info below.

  • Sign up for SAMP Notices: A Draft Environmental Assessment of the Port’s Sustainable Airport Master Plan, which proposes mass tree destruction in this community, is expected soon. Public input will be critical. Sign up for notice from the Port when that comment window opens.

Contact and Meeting Information

Port of Seattle

Port of Seattle Leadership Team: Port of Seattle Headquarters PO Box 1209 | Seattle, WA 98111 phone: 206-787-3000. Stephen P. Metruck, Executive Director; Pearse Edwards, Senior Director, External Relations; Bookda Gheisar, Senior Director Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (Bookda.G@portseattle.org); Elizabeth Leavitt, Senior Director, Environment and Sustainability.

Port Commissioners: Commission phone: 206-787-3034

Please thank Commissioners Felleman, Calkins, and Cho for their role in the Port’s decision last summer to not build an 11-acre airport parking lot in North SeaTac Park and thank Commissioner Hasegawa and Mohamed for signing the petition against that parking lot when they were candidates for office.

  • Commission President Ryan Calkins (calkins.r@portseattle.org)

  • Commissioner Sam Cho (cho.s@portseattle.org)

  • Commissioner Fred Felleman (felleman.f@portseattle.org)

  • Commissioner Toshiko Hasegawa (hasegawa.t@portseattle.org)

  • Commissioner Hamdi Mohamed (mohamed.h@portseattle.org

Port meetings: Usually on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at noon (sign-in 11:30). Public comments procedures are published HERE. Speaking time is 2 minutes.

To deliver public comment during a meeting via phone or Microsoft Teams: Write to commission-public-records@portseattle.org with your name and topic by 9AM on the day of the meeting. You will then be provided with instructions and a link to join the Teams meeting

To deliver public comment via email: Send your comments to commission-public-records@portseattle.org All written comments will be distributed to commissioners and attached to the approved minutes.

City Governments

BURIEN

Public Meetings: First and third Mondays at 7PM.

Please thank Deputy Mayor Schilling and Councilmembers Sarah Moore and Cydney Moore for signing the petition against building an airport employee parking lot in North SeaTac Park last summer.

  • Mayor Sofia Aragon (sofiaa@burienwa.gov)

  • Deputy Mayor Kevin Schilling (kevins@burienwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Hugo Garcia (hugog@burienwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Jimmy Matta (jimmym@burienwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Cydney Moore, (cydneym@burienwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Sarah Moore (sarahm@burienwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Stephanie Mora (stephaniem@burienwa.gov).

DES MOINES

Public Meetings: Second and fourth Thursdays at 5PM

Please thank Mayor Mahoney, Deputy Mayor Buxton, and Councilmembers Harris and Nutting for signing the petition against building an airport employee parking lot in North SeaTac Park last summer.

  • Mayor Matt Mahoney (mmahoney@desmoineswa.gov)

  • Deputy Mayor Traci Buxton (tbuxton@desmoineswa.gov)

  • Councilmember Gene Achziger (gachziger@desmoineswa.gov)

  • Councilmember JC Harris (jcharris@desmoineswa.gov)

  • Councilmember Jeremy Nutting (jnutting@desmoineswa.gov)

  • Councilmember Harry Steinmetz (hsteinmetz@desmoineswa.gov).

NORMANDY PARK

Public Meetings: Second Tuesdays at 7PM

Councilmember Earnest Thompson, who signed both last summer’s petition against the parking lot in North SeaTac Park and the Consensus, sadly, passed away on August 1, 2022. More information is here.

  • Mayor Sue-Ann Hohimer (sue-ann.hohimer@normandyparkwa.gov)

  • Deputy Mayor Susan Jeanne West (susan.west@normandyparkwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Michelle Sipes-Marvin (michelle.sipes-marvin@normandyparkwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Shawn McEvoy (shawn.mcevoy@normandyparkwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Mike Bishoff (mike.bishoff@normandyparkwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Eric Zimmerman (eric.zimmerman@normandyparkwa.gov).

SEATAC

Public Meetings: Second and fourth Tuesdays at 6PM. To speak at the meeting, sign up by 2PM on the day of the meeting using THIS FORM. Speaking time is 3 minutes. To submit written comments, email them by 2:00 p.m. the day of the meeting to: PublicComment@seatacwa.gov

Please thank Councilmembers Kwon and Egal for signing the Consensus. Please also thank Mayor Simpson, Deputy Mayor Negusse, and Councilmember Kwon (then Deputy Mayor Kwon) for signing the petition against building an airport employee parking lot in North SeaTac Park last summer.

  • Mayor Jake Simpson (jsimpson@seatacwa.gov)

  • Deputy Mayor Senayet Negusse (snegusse@seatacwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Mohamed Egal (megal@seatacwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Takele Gobena (tgobena@seatacwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Iris Guzman (iguzman@seatacwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Peter Kwon (pkwon@seatacwa.gov)

  • Councilmember Erin Sitterly (esitterly@seatacwa.gov)

TUKWILA

Public Meetings: First and third Mondays at 7PM

Please thank Councilmember Kruller for signing the Consensus and, in her role of Council President last summer, for signing the petition against the parking lot in North SeaTac Park.

  • Mayor Allan Eckberg (Mayor@TukwilaWa.gov)

  • Councilmember Mohamed Abdi (Mohamed.Abdi@TukwilaWa.gov)

  • Councilmember Kathy Hougardy (Kathy.Hougardy@TukwilaWa.gov)

  • Councilmember Cynthia Delostrinos Johnson (c.delostrinosjohnson@tukwilawa.gov)

  • Councilmember Kate Kruller (Kate.Kruller@TukwilaWa.gov)

  • Councilmember Thomas McLeod (Thomas.McLeod@TukwilaWa.gov)

  • Councilmember De’Sean Quinn (DeSean.Quinn@TukwilaWa.gov)

  • Councilmember Tosh Sharp (tosh.sharp@tukwilawa.gov).

King County Government

Public Meetings

Fourth Tuesdays at 1 PM

Please thank Council Vice President and Councilmember Upthegrove for signing both last summer’s petition against the parking lot in North SeaTac Park.

The Council meets on the 1st-4th Tuesdays of the month, but general comments are accepted only on fourth Tuesdays.

Online: Find the zoom link on the agenda for the meeting (need to scroll to bottoof page) here: https://kingcounty.gov/council/committees/full_council.aspx these agendas are usually available days in advance. No sign up or advance notice is needed.

By phone: use the Zoom app and Webinar ID: 813 1719 0179 (phone number 1-253-215-8782)

By written comment: Submit to clerk@kingcounty.gov before 10:00 a.m. on the day of the meeting. Your comments will be distributed to the Councilmembers and appropriate staff prior to the meeting.

EMAILING OR CALLING COUNCILMEMBERS

Councilmembers are assigned districts and it is most effective if you call or write your own Councilmember. To find your district, click HERE. You can also write to or address all Councilmembers.

Dear Council Chair Balducci and Councilmembers Dembrowski, Zahilay, Perry, Kohl-Welles, Upthegrove, McDermott, Von Reichbauer, and Dunn,

rod.dembowski@kingcounty.gov, girmay.zahilay@kingcounty.gov, sarah.perry@kingcounty.gov, jeanne.kohl-welles@kingcounty.gov, dave.upthegrove@kingcounty.gov, claudia.balducci@kingcounty.gov, joe.mcdermott@kingcounty.govpete.vonreichbauer@kingcounty.gov, reagan.dunn@kingcounty.gov

  • Councilmember Rod Dembowski, District 1, 206-477-1001, rod.dembowski@kingcounty.gov

  • Councilmember Girmay Zahilay, District 2, 206-477-1002, girmay.zahilay@kingcounty.gov

  • Councilmember Sarah Perry, District 3, 206-477-1003, sarah.perry@kingcounty.gov

  • Councilmember Jeanne Kohl-Welles, District 4, 206-477-1004, jeanne.kohl-welles@kingcounty.gov

  • Councilmember Dave Upthegrove, District 5, 206-477-1005, dave.upthegrove@kingcounty.gov The airport is within District 5.

  • Council Chair Claudia Balducci, District 6, 206-477-1006, claudia.balducci@kingcounty.gov

  • Councilmember Pete von Reichbauer, District 7, 206-477-1007, pete.vonreichbauer@kingcounty.gov

  • Council Vice Chair Joe McDermott, District 8, 206-477-1008 joe.mcdermott@kingcounty.gov Many residents of District 8 live within 1 or 2 miles of the airport.

  • Council Vice Chair Reagan Dunn, District 9, 206-477-1009, reagan.dunn@kingcounty.gov

Highline Forum

The Highline Forum provides SW King County municipalities, educational governing bodies, and the Port of Seattle with the opportunity to share information, interact with outside speakers and other governmental organizations, and work in partnership on initiatives that benefit the residents of Southwest King County.

Upcoming meetings are on the 4th Wednesdays of January, March, May, July, September, and November from 2:30 – 4:30PM. To participate by written comment or via Microsoft Teams, email Dave Kaplan at kaplan.d@portseattle.org by 9AM on the day of the meeting with your name and topic.

StART - SEA Stakeholder Advisory Roundtable

Meets from 5-7PM on the 4th Wednesday of the month, typically Feb., April, June, Aug., Oct., and Dec. - alternating with the Highline Forum. If Christmas falls on the fourth week in December, StART will be held on a prior Wednesday in December.

“The SEA Stakeholder Advisory Round Table provides a forum that fosters a spirit of goodwill, respect, and openness while encouraging candid discussion between the Port and residential and business community members from the Highline Forum-member cities of SeaTac, Burien, Des Moines, Normandy Park, Tukwila, and Federal Way. StART is the preeminent forum for information-sharing, discussing Highline Forum-member cities’ concerns, and providing feedback to the Port for issues related to the airport.”

More info here:

Open to the public and comments pertinent to the topics listed on that day’s StART meeting agenda are accepted at most meetings with sign-up required prior to the meeting - but no info is given on where to obtain zoom link. Meeting agendas are distributed at least one week prior. Written comments to the facilitator are also recommended but no info is given on how to provide those.

Public Issues Committee of the Sound Cities Association

Sound Cities Association website.

Meets on the second Wednesday of each month from 7-9PM. Meetings are open to the public and agendas, which contain video links for joining in, are published in advance. Individuals who are not members or staff of SCA may submit written materials regarding an agenda item to SCA for distribution at the PIC “but are prohibited from lobbying the PIC or its members during debate of an issue.”

Thirty-eight cities belong to the SCA, including Burien, Des Moines, Normandy Park, SeaTac, and Tukwila. Seattle is not a member. Its mission is “To provide leadership through advocacy, education, mutual support and networking to cities in King County as they act locally and partner regionally to create livable vital communities.” The PIC reviews and evaluates policy positions and recommends to the Board what, if any, action should be taken.

*The Port of Seattle has acknowledged that “the Park is the culmination of a long term and very open planning process to compensate the area’s residents for cumulative airport impacts. According to the Aviation Division, the Park is the best compatible use of a severely airport-impacted area".

Federal Aviation Administration Compliance Reviews of Airport Noise Land Use & Financial Operations 2016 p. 11.

info@KCTreeEquity.org

© 2022

Facebook icon
Instagram icon
Created with
Mailchimp Freddie Badge